Luigi pirandello and Orazio Costa: The unpublished works of the Archivio costa in the experience of the Piccolo Teatro di Roma (1948-1954)


di Lucilla Bonavita

The book, in addition to offering a contribution to the studies about Pirandello, proposes a reading of the “stage fact” through a documentary and philological route consti-tuted of unpublished material that winds within the note-books jealously guarded by the Master since 1938 until his death, and now preserved in the Costa Archive in Florence. Founder of Piccolo Teatro di Roma (1948-1954), Orazio Costa brings to the stage the plays written by Pirandello during that time: through a transcoding process of the literary texts of Six Characters in Search of an Author and Right You Are (If You Think So), we are witnessing a new dramatic writing that, while remaining philologically faithful to Pirandello’s text, increases its poetic potential.

Lucilla Bonavita graduated in Modern Literature and earned a Master in Teaching of the Literary Text, a Master in Writing, Literature and Network and a Master in Religious Studies at the Pontifical Gregorian University. She has a PhD in Italian Studies at the Universities of Rome “Tor Vergata”, Toronto and Warsaw. Her fields of interest are focused on the study of unpublished documents on transcodification of Pirandello’s theater and on the inter-cultural aspects of the Eighteenth Century literature. She is the author of the monograph Il Cardinale Stefano Borgia. Un erudito del Settecento tra cultura e religione (Edicampus 2014).

Anno di Pubblicazione: 2016
Formato: 160 × 240
Prezzo: 24,00
Pagine: 176
ISBN:  9788897591627